Covers and title pages, wallpapers, Patreon and Ko-fi

Published on 11/12/19

Title page for Book 3 was published last week, and now I can show all three pairs of covers and title pages for all three books of Noosphere. And I also have some news about my old (?) Patreon page and my new Ko-fi page (spoiler: I want to make wallpapers and merch, yay!).


So, yeah, I started the third book of Noosphere. I wanted to make a blog post after finishing the second one, but I'm still out of words. It was an important part of the story, we finally met Semeon, but, uh... I feel so sorry for him. It was kinda sad ending, but just you wait for the ending of Book 3, huh.

Anyway, since we already know the names of all three books, I made this pic, showing all three pairs of covers and title pages for all three books of Noosphere. Here they are:

Covers and title pages for Intersections, Passages, and Dead Ends

As you can see, covers are focused on the characters (even if we don't know who they are at the time), and title pages are mostly about the city. The city plays a big role in this story after all. I love how big and empty it looks (even though N-16 isn't that big of a town). You may have noticed that throughout the story I prefer to show N-16's streets as empty as possible, as cold and unwelcoming as possible. That's how I feel about most of modern cities in general, especially the places that I like the most: industrial districts, abandoned neighbourhoods, deserted construction sites, decommissioned railroads, concrete, barbed wire and rusty metal — I love this aestetic and want N-16 to look just like that. Hope it shows.

And I wish I could draw more of that. Sadly, backgrounds are still the real pain in the backside for me: they require a ton of work and a ton of layers, and I'm somewhat limited at that regard at the moment. As I mentioned on twitter and other social media, I currently work in Procreate on Ipad, and layer limit is literally killing me, as I can't go crazy with backgrounds — I instantly run out of layers if I want to make anything complex (and that was the only reason for delay with finishing pages 3.9.1–2). And, frankly, after otherwise amazing drawing experience in Procreate on Ipad I don't want to return to my Intuos and Photoshop, and because of that I can kiss my 50+ layer capacity goodbye.

So, what can I do? I decided that I should try to draw these amazing backgrounds on smaller scale, not on 2xA4 400dpi (which is the resolution for my comic pages), but, like, wallpaper size pictures. Still hi-res enough to look good on big screens, but not print-size hi-res. Which means more layers, which means more complex cityscapes, which means I'll practice backgrounds and be happy in the process, not angry about the necessity of merging everything all the time.

Wallpapers!

I mean, I don't know about you, but I certainly could use some fresh wallpaper on my devices. I just need time to draw it. And I can't say I have a lot of it, thanks for my day job with constant overtime. Donation services like Patreon and Ko-fi could help with that a little, so I want to try and use them and see what happens.

At the moment I have early access option on Patreon — my $5+ supporters receive fresh Noosphere pages as soon as they are done. Instead I want to give early access to all tiers (starting from $1!), and for $5+ patrons I'll make an exclusive wallpaper each month. All this will be possible once we reach the first patreon goal — $15 a month. Not much, huh? and we're halfway there already. Or maybe you'd like to leave early access where it is and add wallpapers for $1+? Let me know in the comments!

Another goal for Patreon is to be able to make physical rewards: I'd like to turn those future wallpapers into physical postcards at some point, let's try to reach $50 per month on Patreon and see how it goes. All the details about current tiers and rewards can be found on my Patreon page.

As for Ko-fi, it's an option for those who prefer one time donations, unlike patreon subscription. On Ko-fi there is the same goal of $15, but the wallpaper will be available for everyone! Do you want shiny new regular  wallpapers just for yourself and few others, or do you want to share one wallpaper with the whole world (whatever teeny tiny part of it even cares about Noosphere, huh), the choice is yours. And if you donate through Ko-fi, you can name the character from a movie / series / videogame, and I'll draw them in my Coffee Fanart series and post the picture there on Ko-fi, here in the Gallery, on my instagram and God knows where else. So, requests, anyone? :)

As always, I'm extremely grateful to everyone who supports my art. One day, I hope, I'll be able to give all my time to my comics and drawings, but at the moment your donations help me to pay for this website, my art supplies and occasionaly for coffee, and that's something! Thank you!

N-16's outskirts from Chapter 4, recoloured

Ann Arde © 2012–2019

Обложки, титульные страницы, обои, патреон и Ko-fi

Опубликовано 12/11/2019

На прошлой неделе вышла титульная страница третьей книги, и теперь я могу показать все три пары обложек и титульных страниц всех трех книг «Ноосферы». А ещё у меня есть новости про патреон и Ko-fi (спойлер: хочу рисовать обои и делать мерч!).


Я начала рисовать третью книгу «Ноосферы», а пост про завершение второй так и не написала. Эх. Всё ещё не могу подобрать слова. Это была важная часть истории, мы наконец-то встретили Семёна, и, хмм... жалко его. Концовка второй книги была довольно грустной, но это вы ещё третью не видели, хех.

Тем временем, поскольку названия всех трех книг уже известны, я покажу все три пары обложек и титульных страниц «Ноосферы» вместе:

Covers and title pages for Intersections, Passages, and Dead Ends

Как видите, обложки фокусируются на персонажах (даже если мы ещё не знаем, кто это), а титульные страницы, скорее, на городе. Город играет в истории важную роль, я стараюсь показать его большим и пустым (хотя вообще Н-16 не такой уж большой), с безлюдными холодными улицами и зданиями, закрывающими горизонт. Я стараюсь передать ту атмосферу современных городов, которую чувствую сама и которую так люблю — атмосферу индустриальных районов, заброшенных зданий, недостроев, старых железных дорог, ведущих в никуда, атмосферу бетона, колючей проволоки и ржавого металла. Хочу, чтобы Н-16 воспринимался именно так, и надеюсь, что это заметно.

И хотелось бы рисовать побольше такого. К сожалению, фоны — это боль, они требуют кучу работы и кучу слоев, а вот со слоями у меня проблемы. Как я писала в телеграме, контакте и других местах, я сейчас рисую в Procreate на айпаде, и всем бы он хорош, но ограничение на количество слоев просто убивает: если я хочу сделать сложный бэкграунд, у меня моментально заканчиваются слои (потому-то 3.9.1 и задержалась с выходом). А возвращаться после во всем остальном прекрасного Procreat'а и айпада обратно на интус с фотошопом как-то вообще не тянет, а потому, прощайте, мои 50+ слоев.

И щто теперь делать? Я хочу попробовать рисовать все эти чудесные бэкграунды на разрешении поменьше, не 2хА4 400dpi, как мои страницы, а под размер обоев. Достаточно крупный размер, чтобы хорошо смотреться на экране, даже крупном, но не хайрез для печати на А4 всё-таки. А это значит, больше слоев, более сложные пейзажи, больше практики с фонами и счастье-радость в процессе вместо злости от того, что постоянно нужно сливать слои после каждого чиха.

Обои!

Не знаю насчет вас, а мне бы свежие обои пригодились. Нужно только время, чтобы их рисовать. А его у меня, из-за моей чудесной работы по 12 часов в день, не очень много. Сервисы вроде патреона и Ko-fi могут немного с этим помочь, так что я хочу попробовать их для этого использовать и посмотреть, что из этого выйдет.

Сейчас на патреоне есть ранний доступ для подписчиков $5+ — они получают свежие страницы «Ноосферы», как только оные готовы. Я хочу немного это поменять и открыть ранний доступ для всех тиров, включая $1, а патронам $5+ рисовать ежемесячные эксклюзивные обои. Это станет возможно, когда мы достигнем первой цели на патреоне — $15 в месяц. Вроде немного, и половина уже есть. А может, вы бы предпочли оставить ранний доступ для $5+, зато получать обои за $1? Пишите в комментарии!

А следующая цель для патреона — делать мерч! Я бы хотела не просто рисовать обои, а печатать их на открыточках и посылать подписчикам, давайте попробуем добраться до $50 в месяц и пощупаем их? Все текущие тиры и награды можно посмотреть на патреоне, и пусть английский язык вас не смущает — всё, что я там пишу, дублируется на русском!

Что же касается Ko-fi, это опция для тех, кто предпочитает разовые донаты, в отличие от ежемесячной подписки на патреоне. На Ko-fi тоже есть та же цель в $15, но обои будут в открытом доступе! Хотите уникальные обои, которые рисуются каждый месяц только для вас и еще нескольких человек, или предпочитаете поделиться одними обоями со всем миром (той его малюсенькой частью, которая знает про «Ноосферу»), выбор за вами. Кстати, если вы задонатите через Ko-fi и в комментарии укажете имя персонажа из кино, сериала или игры, я его нарисую в моей серии кофейных фанартов и выложу там же, на Ko-fi, здесь в галерее, в инстаграме и вообще много где. Есть реквесты? :)

Как всегда, огромное спасибо всем, кто меня поддерживает! Однажды, я надеюсь, я смогу уделять все свое время рисованию, а пока ваши донаты помогают мне оплачивать этот сайт, всякие рисовальные принадлежности и, время от времени, кофе, и это уже неплохо! Спасибо!

N-16's outskirts from Chapter 4, recoloured

Ann Arde © 2012–2019